New Books



2021.10.22
The Ambassadors Barcode: R27743G2250
Author: James, Henry, 1843-1916.
Publisher: The New American LibraryYear: 1960
CallNumber: American Fiction JAMISBN: 9780585008158
Type: BookАvailable


2021.10.20
Look Back in Anger : Barcode: R27717V2250
Author: Osborne, John, 1929-1994
Publisher: Faber and FaberYear: 1960
CallNumber: SV 822.914 OSBISBN:
Type: BookАvailable
Look Back in Anger is a realist play written by John Osborne. It focuses on the life and marital struggles of an intelligent and educated but disaffected young man of working-class origin, Jimmy Porter, and his equally competent yet impassive upper-middle-class wife Alison. The supporting characters include Cliff Lewis, an amiable Welsh lodger who attempts to keep the peace; and Helena Charles, Alison's snobbish friend. Osborne drew inspiration from his personal life and failing marriage with Pamela Lane.


Selected Poems Barcode: R27718S2250
Author: Frost, Robert, 1874-1963
Publisher: Penguin BooksYear: 1973
CallNumber: 2SV 811.52 FROISBN:
Type: BookАvailable
This work has been selected by scholars as being culturally important, and is part of the knowledge base of civilization as we know it.


2021.10.19
Skulduggery Pleasant Barcode: R27696F2250
Author: Landy, Derek, 1974-
Publisher: HarperCollins Children's BooksYear: 2007
CallNumber: Juvenile Fiction LANISBN: 9780007938902
Type: BookАvailable
Stephanie's Uncle Gordon is a writer of horror fiction. But when he dies and leaves her his estate, Stephanie learns that while he may have written horror, it certainly wasn't fiction. Pursued by evil forces intent on recovering a mysterious key, Stephanie finds help from an unusual source the wisecracking skeleton of a dead wizard.


The Edge Chronicles: Barcode: R27694G2250
Author: Riddell, Chris
Publisher: Corgi BooksYear: 2015
CallNumber: Juvenile Fiction RIDISBN: 9780552567589
Type: BookАvailable
Cade Quarter is building a new life for himself in the wild Farrow Ridges, miles away from civilization - and from the enemies who are seeking him. But when his new home is threatened by villainous mire-pearlers, Cade and his friends must find a way to defend the land they love, and the wise and beautiful secrets it holds. Doombringer is the second book of the Cade Saga - fourth trilogy in The Edge Chronicles, the internationally best-selling fantasy series, which has featured on the UK and the New York Times best-seller lists and sold more than 3 million copies. There are now 13 titles and four trilogies in the series, but each book is a stand-alone adventure, so you can read The Edge Chronicles in any order you choose.


Wereworld: Barcode: R27695E2250
Author: Jobling, Curtis, 1972-
Publisher: Puffin BooksYear: 2013
CallNumber: British Fiction JOBISBN: 9780141345000
Type: BookАvailable
Wereworld: Storm of Sharks is the fifth book in the horror-fantasy series by Curtis Jobling, perfect for fans of Darren Shan, Tolkien's The Hobbit and Christopher Paolini's Eragon. Rumours have spread like wildfire across the warring lands of Lyssia - young Werewolf, Drew Ferran, has returned to the Seven Realms. Seeking out an army that may help him defeat the terrible Catlords of Bast, he turns to the sea where a host of fresh terrors await. With scoundrels and pirates cresting each and every wave, Drew's quest pulls him toward the very heart of his enemy, deep into the eye of the maelstrom . . .